Scuba diving in Croatia

Combining sailing vacation on a catamaran and scuba diving can be a win-win combination for all diving lovers. Croatia offers an unreal amount of scuba diving places - 1000 islands, calm and crystal clear sea, plenty of ship wrecks, underwater caverns, pillars and canyons are all waiting to be explored. 

Scuba diving in territorial sea of the Republic of Croatia can be done for the purpose of recreation and sport.

Diving for recreation and sports can be:

  • individually
  • organized

Organized diving

For organized diving in the Republic of Croatia, it is necessary to be a member of a diving center, a diving association or other legal or natural person registered for performing underwater activities in the Republic of Croatia.

Individual diving

For individual diving in the Republic of Croatia, it is necessary to obtain a permit for individual diving, which can be done at any port cape (Pula, Rijeka, Senj, Zadar, Šibenik, Split, Ploče or Dubrovnik) or port captainship.

It is advisable to contact port captains personnel for a term-related agreement, especially prior to the start of the season, when the highest interest is required for obtaining approval for individual diving.

You can check the port captain's contacts at the Ministry of Sea, Transport and Infrastructure website

Harbor Captain.
The cost of individual diving licenses is 2,400 kuna (324 Eur) and is valid for one year from the date of issue.

Diving areas must be clearly marked by setting are or orange buoy in the center of the area, or by displaying a diving flag from a high place on the boat being used to dive from. You may dive in most places along the Adriatic, but there are some areas where diving is restricted, forbidden or requires a special license.
Diving is forbidden in ports, entrances to ports, anchorage areas and areas frequented by heavy traffic. Diving is not allowed in special marine reserves and parks such as Maloston Bay, Lim Channel and Telaséica and in the national parts of Brijuni and Krk. You should not dive within 100 meters of naval ships at anchor or military coastal installations.

Areas requiring a special permit are the Komati islands, Mljet and Telascica. Permits are issued by
the park authorities. You may dive in organized groups on Brijuni.

Areas which require a special license issued by the Ministry of Culture and where you may only
dive under the supervision of a licensed diving centre are: Vis Archaeological Zone (the islands of
Vis, Bisevo, Svetac and Brusnik), Lastovo Archaeological Zone(the islands of Susac, Kopiéte, Lastovo and the islet groups of Donji Skolji and Vrhovnjaci), Palagruia Archaeological Zone (all the islands and islets), Mljet Archaeological Zone (300 metres from the coast of the island and all the islands, islets and rocks within 2,000 metres of the coast),the archaeological zones around the islands of Cres, Kakanj, Krapanj, Ilovik, Unije, Mali Losinj, Osor, Susak, Rogoznica, Premantura (near Pula) and shipwreck sites such as Szent Istvan (Premuda), Coriolanus (Novigrad, Istra), Baron Gautsch (Sv. Ivan na Puéini, Istra), 8-57 [Peljesac), the wreck of the TA 45, Francesca di Rimini (island of Kaprija), the B-24 plane Wrsar), the Hans Schmidt (Rovinj) and the Flamingo (Pula); and the archaeological sites of Zirja and Cavtat.

The maximum depth permitted for recreational diving is 40 metres.